T20 World Cup collapse: BCCI sacks entire Chetan Sharma-led selection committee

BCCI logo outside its headquarters in Mumbai. | Photo Credit: AFP

The BCCI on Friday sacked four members of the senior national selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma after the Indian cricket team failed to reach the final of the T20 World Cup in Australia.

During Chetan’s tenure, India also failed to reach the knock-out stage in the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup and lost in the final of the World Test Championships.

Read | The better team now wins: Dravid

Chetan (North zone), Harvinder Singh (Centra Zone), Sunil Joshi (South Zone) and Debasish Mohanty (East Zone) had the shortest tenure as senior national selectors in recent times. Some of them were appointed in 2020 and some in 2021.

A senior national selector normally gets a four-year term subject to extension. No one was selected from the West Zone after Abbey Kuruvilla’s tenure.

That Chetan will be fired was reported by PTI on October 18 after the BCCI AGM.

On Friday, the BCCI invited applications for the post of national selectors (Senior Men).

The last date of application is November 28.

Chandan Kumar

Author & Content Researcher for Entertainment & World Desk, reports on world cinema, web series and lifestyle. Like to explore trends in the film industry and build conversations about them. Also focused on discovering regional cinema and good storytelling above all! Official E-mail :-

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button