Women’s Challenger Trophy | Harleen and spinners shine as India-A wins big against India-C

After Sahana put the brakes on the India-C batters, Harleen took India-A to the finish line. | Photo Credit: PK Ajith Kumar

A ruthless foray at the death by Harleen Deol took India-A to a total that will prove too good for India-C in the opening match of the Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy tournament on Sunday.

Riding on Harleen’s unbeaten 51 off 30 balls (8×4, 1×6), India-A made 160 for two after electing to bat at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Stadium. In reply, India-C could only manage 126 for eight, thus going down by 34 runs.

The margin could have been bigger but for some delicious shots at the end by captain Pooja Vastrakar (61, 38b, 4×4, 3×6). By the time he hit the accelerator, it was too late.

A superb spell – one for 10 from four overs – with the new ball by left-arm seamer Anjali Sarvani put India-C on the back foot. Then Karnataka spinners Sahana Pawar and Shreyanka Patil took over, claiming five wickets between them.

India-C could not recover from its poor start, losing both openers, S. Meghana and Kiran Navgire, before the end of PowerPlay.

Earlier, Harleen was doing well in her innings. His flicked six over square-leg to Pooja in the final over was gorgeous.

He came into the middle after Nuzhat Parween (55, 54b, 6×4) and Shivali Shinde (42, 31b, 5×4, 1×6) added 67. The second-wicket stand between Nuzhat and Harleen was worth 59.

The second match of the day was more of a mismatch, as India-D crushed India-B by 10 wickets. Yastika Bhatia (22 no, 26b, 2×4) and Jasia Akhter (56 no, 36b, 9×4) needed just 10.2 overs to send their side home after a good show by the bowlers that India-B could not manage the entire overs , who fell down. more than 80.

The work started by seamers Renuka Singh and Shikha Pandey was completed by spinners Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Sneh Rana, the skipper.

The scores:

India-A 160/2 in 20 overs (Nuzhat Parween 55, Shivali Shinde 42, Harleen Deol 51 no) bt India-C 126/8 in 20 overs (Pooja Vastrakar 61, Sahana Pawar 3/14, Shreyanka Patil 2/36) .

India-B 80 in 18.2 overs (Renuka Singh 2/24, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 3/11, Sneh Rana 2/13) lost to India-D 81/0 in 10.2 overs (Jasia Akhter 56 no).

Chandan Kumar

Author & Content Researcher for Entertainment & World Desk, reports on world cinema, web series and lifestyle. Like to explore trends in the film industry and build conversations about them. Also focused on discovering regional cinema and good storytelling above all! Official E-mail :-

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button